Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: A sign of the times?  (Read 5392 times)

Roger2561

• OWF Brand: Central Boiler
  • OWF Model: Classic Edge 550 HD
    • View Profile
A sign of the times?
« on: June 09, 2017, 04:21:00 AM »

After spending a lot of time looking around, I finally found a welder who stopped by the house to look over the project to which I'm hoping he can find a solution.  I mentioned that I had been having a hard time finding welders/fabricators who do house calls.  He told me that in general it'll get more difficult as time goes on to find qualified welders; young people are not going into the trades, they find it beneath them to do "menial" work.  I think I'll have a talk with one of my nephews, he's a very good welder (self taught) but with some guidance where he could hone his skills, he'd do well.  It's too bad that society is at point where many people don't value the mechanic, welder, builder, etc...  How will someone get their homes built, cars/trucks fixed, welding things back together, etc... if these kids aren't encouraged to cultivate their skill?  Do you folks find the same problem where you live?  Or, is this a product of living in the shadows of an Ivy League/liberal institution?  Roger     
CB Classic Edge 550 HD
JD Tractor 4500 4X4 with front-end loader
JD LX277AWS
Stihl 021
Stihl MS 311
Cud Cadet 27 Ton Wood splitter
2012 Honda Goldwing GL1800
New Hampshire

E Yoder

• OWF Brand: HeatMaster
  • OWF Model: GS 100
    • View Profile
    • www.heatmasterfurnace.com
Re: A sign of the times?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2017, 05:18:05 AM »

I'll bet it's everywhere.... around here young people who want to learn HVAC, plumbing, electrical are fewer and fewer. Good tradesmen have more than they can do it seems. Sometimes it's tough to get a call back if you need work done on a heating system.