Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: New Furnace Owner  (Read 10698 times)

Marleywood

• Training Wheels
  • OWF Brand: Central Boiler
  • OWF Model: The Classic CL-5648
    • View Profile
    • Marleywood Raised Cedar Garden Beds
New Furnace Owner
« on: February 02, 2017, 11:29:57 AM »

Hi,

New to the forum and new to owning a wood furnace.  We recently bought a house in central New Hampshire which has a Central Boiler CL-5648.

The house has oil heat via 2 furnaces, one in 2BR garage apartment (separate systems).  When the wood furnace system is engaged, it will heat both areas.

I'm a total noob on this system, so please bear with me if I have seemingly obvious questions.

I have the manual that came with the furnace, but it's a bit overwhelming.

My first simple(?) question is on on to fire it up.

In my crawl space in the main house, near the furnace are four hot water pipe valves that are clearly marked as to their required positions for wood heat Vs the oil system only.

I have checked the boiler for water (good).

So, I build a fire.......

Roger2561

• OWF Model: Classic Edge 550 HD
    • View Profile
Re: New Furnace Owner
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2017, 05:47:17 PM »

Welcome to the forum Marleywood.  I'm in NH also.  If you're at all familiar with Dartmouth College, I live about 15 miles south east of the college in a small town called Enfield.  You'll find a lot of smart people on this forum who are willing to share their expertise with anyone who asks for help.  Ask all the questions you want.  Every question is an important one. 

I have a Central Boiler E-Classic 1400.  This is my 6th season heating my 4500sqft house and domestic hot-water (DHW).  I fired mine up in early October and I think I'm approaching 3 cord of wood.  For the past 6 seasons my oil burner has been my backup heating system.  Roger
CB Classic Edge 550 HD