Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Antifreeze for the Shaver  (Read 12031 times)

lugnut

• View Profile
Antifreeze for the Shaver
« on: November 08, 2011, 09:13:32 PM »

Hi folks,

I'm a newbie here and the proud owner of a Shaver 250.  I have two other posts on this site but on different pages.  One post deals with moisture meters; the other deals with at what temp do I set the thermostat on the rear of the furnace.  I suppose I could have posted over here on the Shaver page....so moving on.....

I have the Rust Blocker in my furnace and I'm curious about the antifreeze.  My furnace is about 115 feet from my house and the pipes are but 2' under the surface.  What kid of antifreeze do you suggest and how much would I require for the Shaver 250?  Friend tells me they use RV antifreeze...any pros/cons regarding using this in the OWF?

Thank you in advance and tomorrow I'm sure I;'ll come up with more questions.  Yes, I do know that this is a learning experience and I'm looking forward to getting that first gas bill.  :-)

Jerry
Jerry
Greenleaf, Wisconsin
Shaver Pro series 250 - Installed 10/28/2011
Cub Cadet / Yanmar 2450  sub-compact tractor
Husquvarna 455 Rancher
1999 Ford F-150 4x4 w/207k miles

RSI

• OWF Brand: HeatMaster
  • OWF Model: G200 and B250
    • View Profile
    • RSI
Re: Antifreeze for the Shaver
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2011, 09:37:43 PM »

I would not use RV antifreeze. It is just mostly alcohol.
Alcohol has a much lower boiling point that water so it will all just leave out the overflow pipe and you will be left with just water.

If you really need antifreeze, Glycol is the best thing to use but real expensive.

willieG

• owbinfo.com
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2011, 09:38:27 PM »