Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Damper in the chimney???  (Read 9597 times)

rick n kristi

• View Profile
Damper in the chimney???
« on: December 10, 2010, 08:19:55 AM »

After many years of indoor wood burning in a wood stove I’m now new to the OWB scene. I always had a damper in the exhaust side of the stove and used it to control burn instead of regulating intake air. It works well in the stove however I have not ever seen this done with an OWB. My boiler has been up a week now and I am very happy with my results so far but am ready to start the tweaking process. Did anyone already try the exhaust damper ? What were your results?
Thanks
Rick
« Last Edit: December 10, 2010, 08:21:29 AM by rick n kristi »
Natures Comfort 325G
Still 038 magnum

willieG

• owbinfo.com
    • View Profile
Re: Damper in the chimney???
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2010, 03:48:39 PM »

good question and i am sure some have tried it and i am not sure of any results

my belief is it is not needed near as much as pushing air in. In your home you likely had a chimney 15 feet or longer and when you get that chimney hot it increases the "pull" on the stove that is why you needed a damper on your exaust. it was usually weighted and set to a certain position to control how much 'suction" was allowed on the fire box so as not to suck too much heat from your stove (or home)

most of the OWB have a very short chimney and too much draft is usually not a concern near as much as not enough. that is why a lot of stove push air in to the fire to create a hotter fire

my thoughts anyway
home made OWB (2012)
Ontario Canada

farmeral

• Training Wheels
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2011, 03:31:19 PM »