Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: symptoms of clogged hx  (Read 5994 times)

husky 555

• OWF Brand: Shaver
  • OWF Model: 250
    • View Profile
symptoms of clogged hx
« on: January 23, 2013, 06:55:14 AM »

I have been using an OWF for 5 years.  My house always seemed to come up to temp within a half hour.  For example house temp is set at 65 degrees through the night.  Then around 6 a.m. I have it set at 70 usually by 6:30 a.m. it is at set temp and the house is no longer calling for heat.  Now with the cold spell my house did not even reach 70 degrees by 7:40 a.m..  I had this issue at the beginning of the heating season and the heating guy purged a small amount of air from the inside system.  He also checked out the inside pump and found it to be ok.   To me it seems to be taking too long to get the house up to temp.  Could this be a symptom of a hx going bad?  My home is new construction and well isulated.  OWF set to 185 degrees and I am loosing about 7 degrees underground according to my heat gun.  Any thoughts?

Scott7m

• OWF Brand: Heatmaster
  • OWF Model: E Series
    • View Profile
Re: symptoms of clogged hx
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2013, 09:03:26 AM »

We spoke yesterday I beleive

To check with heat gun you must put it on the same surface outside and inside, so hit the pex outside and inside, that should be fairly accurate, you should also see your return temp raise from where it exits the house until it reaches the back of the stove.  The return tends to steal some heat from the supply on the way back.

Pull your exchanger out, try pushing water through it backwards as to how it normal flows with a garden hose.  Do that a few times, go get you some CLR and try pouring it in there and pushing it through, let it set in it a bit, then refresh..  Unless it's some really nasty hard scale that "could" work