Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Newbie needin to build a OWB boiler!! Need ideas and help!!  (Read 14577 times)

jksweld

• Training Wheels
  • OWF Brand: Taylor
  • OWF Model: 450
    • View Profile
Newbie needin to build a OWB boiler!! Need ideas and help!!
« on: October 27, 2011, 07:46:17 PM »

Hey Guys

Im new here, been lookin around on the forum for the last 3 days, alot of info and talented people here. I live in central WV in a 1600 sq ft home, everything is electric in it. Ive been welding and fabricating for 12 years and Im lookin to build a OWB boiler. The plan is using the stove just for heat. I understand the concept of how they work with a firebox inside a water jacket and the lines running to the house with a radiator in my forced air system, dont completely understand the whole circulation pump, aqua stat, and etc. also how to keep the water from gettin to hot. Im lookin for simplicity as $$ is very, very, tight. Lookin to build out of items that can be found insted of buyin steel, and other items new. I have an abundance of wood so thats no problem. Any advice, tips, or critism is apprecited. Thanks in advance!!

Bull

• OWF Brand: Hardy
  • OWF Model: Rebuilt H2
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie needin to build a OWB boiler!! Need ideas and help!!
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2011, 09:44:56 PM »

Welcome to the site, the aquastat controls the water temp by opening the firebox vent when the water gets to low and closing it when the temp gets to your max setting. It also controls a blower to put more air into the fire if your design calls for one. The pump circulates the hot water to your house to the heat exchanger that you add to your furnace.
Southern Indiana
Just outside of the "Small Town"

jackel440

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2011, 07:33:51 AM »

Welcome :thumbup: