Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Burning 200 ss 15% moiture oak  (Read 4817 times)

heat550

• OWF Brand: Heatmor
  • OWF Model: 1994 200ss 2015 400dcss
    • View Profile
Burning 200 ss 15% moiture oak
« on: February 05, 2014, 12:46:52 AM »

I'm heating 5500 square feet . I happen to get 10 cords of oak . checks out at 15% . Now I filled it at -20f I got 7.5 hours of burn time . But I have noticed bubbling in the door when stoves up to temp 170f . I know this dry oak gets hotter inside walls are tan with spots of white haze this is after a 7.5 hour burn not out of the norm  . Thats all working great  . Question come to wood use .  were having a crazy cold year . I have went throw 3 cords just in January . I keep house same all time fire 24 hours .  Im in central MN . has others been having the same usage.  :o

Heat550

Im new to burning dry wood . I normally have wet wood because I didn't have the $$$ year before :)

ITO

• OWF Brand: HS1
  • OWF Model: 555
    • View Profile
Re: Burning 200 ss 15% moiture oak
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2014, 07:22:48 AM »

I'm in NW WI, not very far away, cold winter accounts for more wood useage, have had ours for 10 years and never used this much fuel. A couple things that work to conserve is to clean the ash out of the grates frequently and to load it with some space left in it for better combustion (hard to do on those -25 nights). I heat 1400 sq. ft., DHW and an outdoor hot tub and I have gone through almost 5 cord of oak now, I cut my own and not all of it is that dry especially the "rougher" stuff I mix in at the beginning and end of the season. I would say with 5500 sq. ft. you are pretty much on par with my useage. Around here a semi load of oak goes for about $1200 and is about 12 cord if you figure you burn even the whole thing in one season it's still the cheapest fuel around by quite a stretch especially propane prices right now!