Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Calling all BL owners - May have stumbled onto increased burn times with f-brick  (Read 11679 times)

cando attitude

• OWF Brand: Portage & Main
  • OWF Model: BL 28-40
    • View Profile

First of all, Happy Thanksgiving to you guys. 

The rest of the family is still in bed so I thought I would jump on line for a quick moment.....Anyhooo....I wanted to share something with you guys that seems to help me with increased burn times.  I just put the stove in this year so not a lot of experience and was noticing that I always had a lot of larger, hot coals in my ash box.  I'm an engineer by trade and a tightwad to boot so I was determined to keep these coals instead of throwing them out with the ashes so I went out and bought several standard 1" firebricks to install in the stove between the larger firebrick that came with the stove.  I have them placed such that I have 1/8" to 1/4" gaps between the firebricks to allow ashes to fall and air from the blower to feed fire.  This has worked great.  I no longer have large coals in my ash box and I seem to be getting increased burn times. 

As I'm trying to understand this, a few things come to mind.  First of all, this does impede the airflow into the firebox, which will increase recovery times but I also believe that this keeps the fan from blasting all the hot air through the stove (allowing for more dwell time in the stove and thus more heat transfer).  I also believe that these smaller ash slots reduces the natural updraft of the stove when the stove is not calling for heat (i.e. fan off).  Additionally this has certainly helped me to keep an improved bed of coals.  So that's my $.02 for the day.  I am interested to see if others have tried this and if others have/do, if you see the same benefits.

Good day guys,

Cando
Producing a little smoke, here in  South Central Ohio....
Echo CS 400