Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Steps for shutting down for the summer.  (Read 2599 times)

Mizzou71

• Training Wheels
  • OWF Brand: Heatmaster
  • OWF Model: 5000
    • View Profile
Steps for shutting down for the summer.
« on: May 19, 2014, 10:22:48 AM »

I have a Heatmaster 5000. What steps do you take when you shut it down for the summer? Do you leave the pump running?

Ched Bull

• OWF Model: mf 5000
    • View Profile
Re: Steps for shutting down for the summer.
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2014, 05:04:27 PM »

Clean out your stove and ash pan fill back with water if needed send water sample in if you have not done so, I personally shut my pump off some people do not.
Stihl 261c, Home made 36 inch long 27 ton horazontal log splitter, John Deer 2520, 2004 Chevy Four Door Duramax 70,000 miles, Kirksville Mo.

WoodMOJoe

• OWF Brand: Homemade Tank-in-Tank Furnace
  • OWF Model: Ol' Fireball #0002
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2014, 07:00:22 PM »

My pump is in the basement, attached to the floor joists of the upstairs, and I have it plugged in to an outlet I installed up there.  For the non-burning season I plugged it into an outlet timer and it runs 10 minutes every day, just to keep things from getting stagnant I hope.
Southwest Missouri Ozarks...USA

Curado74

• Training Wheels
  • OWF Model: Mf5000
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2014, 07:22:42 PM »

mizzou71,
how do you like your 5000?  I live in central MO and just purchased a MF 5000.  I assume you live in MO as well.  How much wood did you go through with our last winter?  Im excited to get things hooked up and start burning this fall.

Mizzou71

• Training Wheels
  • OWF Model: 5000
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2014, 07:41:21 AM »

mizzou71,