Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: burping the system  (Read 6022 times)

oldchenowth

burping the system
« on: November 03, 2010, 11:26:41 AM »

I just installed a Wood Doctor HE 5000 and apparently have a bubble in the line that will not allow free flow with the pump.  Now for the stupid part.  What would be recommended to place in line to burp the system now and in the future?  Looking for off the shelf (Menards, Lowes, etc.) to help fill and purge easier.

yes, I am a rookie.

Thanks,
rich

dirtryder

Re: burping the system
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2010, 12:31:14 PM »

I installed a "T" at the highest point on my loop and put a piece of pex, then a barb to pipe thread fitting and installed a "petcock" to open manually to let air out. When I initially filled my boiler, I checked for air and had none. Do you have a fill hooked in basement to fill boiler with water? I installed a shut off so I could fill down stream as well as upstream (sorta "backfill").
Are you pumping from the "bottom" fitting and returning to the "top" fitting on the boiler?
BTW, you will constantly be checking the HE5000 to see if it's lit because it burns so clean. I drove myself nuts at first doing that.   TRUST me, take my wifes advice......leave the dang thing alone......
I love my Wood Doctor HE.
Any questions I'll try to help you out.

oldchenowth

« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2010, 04:19:44 AM »

At this time I do not have a fill valve in the basement.  I filled from the bottom drain on the boiler figuring it would act like filling a lower unit on a boat with
oil, pushing the air out on top of the water level. Not so much luck.  I do have the lines hooked up properly, bottom being suplly and top return.  I read your