Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Home made insulated pex  (Read 14948 times)

JT

• Training Wheels
  • OWF Brand: JOHNSON
  • OWF Model: little john
    • View Profile
Home made insulated pex
« on: January 07, 2012, 07:12:48 PM »

Im new to site, and wanted to know if anyone has ever made their own insulated underground pex and how it worked.  I made 100 ft(2 one inch lines in 6 inch corrigated pipe with insulation) at a price of about 5 dollars a foot.  Im waiting on boiler(coming in next week) with all other work complete.  Thanks for any info

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: February 08, 2012, 04:43:17 PM by JT »

jerkash

• OWF Brand: Legend
    • View Profile
Re: Home made insulated pex
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2012, 07:38:48 PM »

Hey JT

I'm kind of new to this myself, but I think you will get most comments that it is just as cheap and performs much better if you buy the insulated pex already made up. Good insulated pex installed correctly is definately a priority with a OWF.

willieG

• owbinfo.com
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2012, 07:49:00 PM »

JT  do believe some have done it and have had success. but if you use any insulation besides closed foam there is a chance your outside pipe will crack or a stone wear through it if this happens and your insulation gets wet you will lose a lot of heat. my lines from my boiler to the house are 250 feet and when my insulation failed it cost me 1/3 of a winters wood each year. if you do it yourself for 5 bucks a foot and maybe have to do it again in 5 or six years..will you do it the next time yourself again for annother 5 bucks a foot or buy the best on the  market for say 12 bucks a foot.  Make yoru decision wisely, the underground pipe of your system is just as important (if not more so) than the brand of OWB you choose (YES IT IS THAT IMPORTANT)

home made OWB (2012)
Ontario Canada

rosewood