Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: concrete pad ?  (Read 10611 times)

logwagon

• Training Wheels
    • View Profile
concrete pad ?
« on: September 24, 2009, 09:19:37 PM »

Hey everybody I am new to owning a OWB, but no stranger to cutting wood, so I have alot of questions.  First I have a Hardy H-4. What is everbody's  idea on concrete pads do I need a footer or not?

2muchtime

• Training Wheels
    • View Profile
Re: concrete pad ?
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2009, 11:37:58 PM »

I do concrete for a living.If you take a shovel width wide all the way around the inside of form and just thicken it oh let say 6 to 8 inches it won't hurt. If you got some old wire fence or re bar to lay in it would be good too. If you order it from a concrete company. You could have them mix some fiber glass fibers right in the concrete. This will take the place of wire or re bar.  I hope this helps.

logwagon

• Training Wheels
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2009, 07:06:16 AM »

Hey 2muchtime thanks alot. I do have plenty of concrete fence I call it, left from when I poured my garage floor. :)

PhinPhan

• OWF Brand: WoodMaster
  • OWF Model: 4400
    • View Profile
    • Outdoor Wood Furnace Info
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2009, 10:57:04 AM »

One thing to think about is raising the stove up to make the door higher to make for easier loading, my brother had a slab poured then added some solid concrete blocks under his hardy H-2 to get it up higher.  Just something to think about now in the planning phase.
Pomeroy, OH
WoodMaster 4400

NC4AB

• Training Wheels
    • View Profile
    • Brinkley Electronics
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2009, 04:26:11 PM »