Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Fire keeps going out  (Read 13512 times)

kso5002

• Training Wheels
  • OWF Brand: Heatmor
  • OWF Model: 400 DCSS
    • View Profile
Fire keeps going out
« on: November 10, 2014, 09:37:34 AM »

Hi everyone, I'm brand new to this whole thing. I know very little about all this and I'm at my wit's end!

We have a 400 dcss, heating our hot water and 3 levels, 900 sq feet each. I know, the 400 is a bit over kill for our house but we plan to hook another building up to it in the future, so we went big. Problem: we cannot get the fire to stay lit. We have tired everything we can think of, even had an 8 inch bed of coals going at one point and still no luck. We live in Northern PA, it's been chilly (mid 30's-40's) the last week. We've only had this furnace for a month and just finished hooking it up and we are so frustrated my husband is ready to bag the whole deal and go back to propane.

If you need more info on our system, ask away. I didn't personally do the install, my father and husband did, so I'll pass questions along if need be.

Thanks!

LittleJohn

• OWF Brand: Central Boiler
  • OWF Model: E-Classic 2400
  • Lonsdale, MN
    • View Profile
Re: Fire keeps going out
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2014, 09:57:46 AM »

Well welcome to the forum

..it sounds like the problem is that your calls for heat are not enough to keep your fire going (shoulder seasons are the worst for trying to keep a fire going!!!)

First question, what is the water temperature of your OWB? ..what is the differential on you controller?  May have to tighten up the differential to try and get the OWB to fire more.
Second round of questions:  When OWB is up to temperatute, are the lines to warm to the touch