Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Wood Questions??  (Read 7592 times)

vinrum

• Training Wheels
    • View Profile
Wood Questions??
« on: July 11, 2010, 04:33:53 AM »

I am new to the outdoor wood furnace world..This will be my first winter using one.. I need a little feedback on what woods are good to burn, and what wood are not.. If the wood should be split or thrown in whole..I am getting alot of mixed reaction from another site that doesnt really like OWB..  I am going to be burning some softwood, I have it in log lengths for about 3 years, they are about 18-24 inch diameter, should those be split? Or just cut to sizes big enough to lift....Looking forward to your feed back

Steve

juddspaintballs

• View Profile
Re: Wood Questions??
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2010, 08:28:13 AM »

At the very least, halve the logs.  They'll burn better that way.  Quartered burns even better.  If the wood is free, there is very little bad wood to burn.  Some woods burn longer and cleaner than others, it all depends on how often you want to stuff wood in the furnace and how much smoke you and your neighbors can deal with.  If you don't have to worry about the smoke, then by all means burn your soft wood.  For better results, mix it with some hard wood too.  In the spring and fall when the heat load is low, my parents have a mountain of pine they burn heat their water and keep warm at night.  When it's cold, they switch to hard wood.  YMMV

vinrum

• Training Wheels
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2010, 06:55:29 PM »