Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: New Build Pics and a Few Questions.  (Read 3175 times)

Acetylene420

• Training Wheels
  • OWF Brand: Home Built
    • View Profile
New Build Pics and a Few Questions.
« on: September 08, 2013, 05:37:52 AM »

I wish I had found this great forum before starting my build but I didn't.

I've attached pics of the firebox and water jacket. Due to the vast amount of knowledge and experience many of you have, I'm sure I've done a few things wrong. This is my first build and I'm doing it from my own ideas and without a set of plans. Please go easy on me. I'm very interested in any and all feedback and criticism regarding what I've built so far. Obviously, with the work, steel and money already committed to the boiler build, radical "cut it apart and start over" suggestions aren't realistic.

I've never owned, used or seen an OWB before so I'm basically winging it. Like I said, I truly wish I had found this site before I started. But anyway...

The firebox is 1/4" hot rolled plate. It's 28" long, 24" wide and 32" tall. I've installed a 3 1/2" schedule 40 pipe under the rack for the blower to inject air under the grate. The grate is 1" round bar. My plan is to run 6" schedule 40 pipe out of the top of the firebox as the exhaust. From what I've seen on this site, I'm thinking the pipe should extend 12" or so down into the box.

The water jacket is 3/16 hot rolled plate. It is 36" wide, 48" tall and 38" long or deep looking at it from the front. I've calculated the water capacity to be 196 gallons once the firebox is installed.

I have installed a 1/2" steel bung in the bottom plate for a drain hosebib.

My questions are: