Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Western PA, BL versus Optimizer, 250 vs 350  (Read 5024 times)

almostplumb

• Training Wheels
  • OWF Brand: none
    • View Profile
Western PA, BL versus Optimizer, 250 vs 350
« on: April 20, 2014, 09:30:23 PM »

I'm new to owb.  After initial research am leaning toward P&M.  Local dealer is throwing my son and I a curve.  We wanted a gasser, e.g. the 250.  The dealer is pushing the BL configured for coal because first it avoids the EPA problem in PA and second because coal is cheap and abundant here.  His pitch is that gassers
are too finicky and we'll end up frustrated.  He stocks the BL's but will order a 250 if we want.  After reviewing most of these threads back to January, it seems
the problems are mostly the learning curve and a few technical issues that P &M (and slimjim) help you address.  We're not completely opposed to the BL but
are under the impression the 250 will be more efficient and slightly carbon friendlier.  We've used wood indoor in a German Weso for almost 20 years.  Never cut
a live tree.  The gypsy moth left enough red oak silver ghosts on our property to never need to cut living trees.  Dry wood will not be a problem.  Are there other
drawbacks to using a coal boiler for primarily wood?
The second question is sizing.  When he scared us about excessive tube maintenance, we looked at CB Eclassics.  Their 1450 seemed about the right size.  Based
on the EPA ratings it seemed about midway between the 250 and 350.  We're intending to heat a double English Tudor brick home built in 91.  It has a 2100 sq ft
main house and a 1200 sq ft in law apartment separated by a 3 car garage.  Both have forced air heat pump systems to which exchanges would be added.  In the
main house a 1200 sq ft basement needs to be added.  A 350 sq ft office is being added above the garage.  The apartment has a 400 sq ft enclosed porch to be