Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Seasoned firewood  (Read 4022 times)

lasor1

• OWF Brand: Heatmaster ss
  • OWF Model: Heatmaster mf 5000
    • View Profile
Seasoned firewood
« on: October 06, 2012, 09:41:11 AM »

Hello everyone I have a few questions about seasoned fire wood! How long does it normally take to have good seasoned firewood from fresh cut down trees? Next question is I have access to old trees that have fallen down across the road or along side it is from the highway department  anyway most of the trees are pretty good size trees and they been setting for a 1yr or so in the weather I notice cutting the big trees like from 18" to 3' diameter there is mosture in them well I Split and stacked them up how long do you think before a person good burn them as good seasoned firewood? Thank you for all the info on this forum I am new to the owb's I got my new heatmaster mf 5000 rdy to go. I have burned a indoor wood stove for years and I know that good seasoned wood doesn't smoke as much and is more efficient and that is what I am trying to do thanks

jerkash

• OWF Brand: Legend
    • View Profile
Re: Seasoned firewood
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2012, 11:32:20 AM »

Your last sentence is correct.  I stay one year ahead on my firewood which works very well.  Also on your down trees, If thats all you have for this year, burn it.  It is somewhat dryer than green wood and splitting it would speed up the process.

jrider

• OWF Brand: Portage and Main
  • OWF Model: Optimizer 250
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2012, 07:59:44 AM »

Way too many factors to give you a concrete time on seasoning.  But general rule is in the neighborhood of 1 year.  And that wood laying on the ground just sits there soaking up ground moisture - once off the ground though, it will be ready to burn faster than green wood.

Yooper

• Training Wheels
    • View Profile