Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Major temp loss with new install  (Read 5360 times)

Wi woodburner

• Training Wheels
  • OWF Brand: Woodmaster
  • OWF Model: 5500
    • View Profile
Major temp loss with new install
« on: March 09, 2014, 02:51:34 PM »

I am very new to heating with my new woodmaster 5500.  I have the owb 150 feet from the house.  I have the insulated pex running on top of the snow for now as I installed in January.  I have about 75 foot run once inside to my forced air furnace.  Installed at the furnace is a Ranco temperature controll.  The temp probe is installed on the supply line going into the 18 x 20 hx.  The temp reading at the ranco is at 120 degrees when the stove is 160.  The supply line is warm but not hot to the touch.  I am using the supply line to heat my hot water as well. 
The air blowing out of my ducts have never been warm.  The house does heat up but takes a while to raise the temp 1 degree.  I increased the blower speed but that just let more cool/warm blow through ducts.  I am very green when it comes to any of this and would appreciate all the help.  from what I have read, could I have a pump issue?

slimjim

• OWF Brand: Wood Doctor / HeatMaster
  • OWF Model: 14,000. / G 200 and G 400
  • Southern Maine
    • View Profile
    • www.mainlycustom.com
Re: Major temp loss with new install
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2014, 04:36:32 PM »

There are many things to check, pump size, restriction in loop, to small piping, poorly insulated lines, air in the loop, all these are problems, your water losing 40 degrees is crazy!
Wood boiler sales, service and installation for the Northeastern USA.

NaturallyAspirated

• OWF Brand: Central Boiler
  • OWF Model: M250
  • Golfing, snowmobiling fool!
    • View Profile
    • http://www.nealmastel.com
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2014, 04:40:27 PM »

What model of pump do you have?

Neal