Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: A Newbie with some questions  (Read 8715 times)

Penguinfan

• Training Wheels
  • OWF Brand: Woodmaster
  • OWF Model: 3300
    • View Profile
A Newbie with some questions
« on: November 15, 2008, 08:03:32 AM »

Hi, I'm new to this form and Outside Woodburning. I've resently ordered a Woodmaster 3300 from my local dealer here in Northeast Pennsylvania. I'm going to be heating a 1248sq.ft. sectional home and my domestic hot water. The furnace will be about 100' from the house.  I'm doing the install myself with the help of family when needed. My hot air furnace is in my basement and the plenum is 20 1/4" by 23". I picked up the "packages" from my dealer so I can start the install while waiting the arrival of the furnace. He gave me a Taco 011 cir. pump, flange kit, 20 plate water/water heat exchanger, thermostat, control, 19x21 water/air exchanger and some fittings. I have already ran my insulated pex (Rehau Insulpex 2x1" foam insul.) and 12-2 underground wire to the furnace site at a 2' depth.
My questions are:
1. Why run the incoming hot water to the water heater first? Then add a mixer valve to cool the domestic hot water. Has anyone ran to the water/air first?
2. What's the best way to plumb the 20 plate water/water? I've seen it most often receiving the cold water before entering the hot water heater. But I've also seen it installed off the drain at the bottom of the water heater. Then enters the top of the heater. My father (old school) thinks the later will give you more thermal circulation while not in use. Is he right?
3. Should I install a filter? And if so where in the system?
4. I would like to install a boiler fill valve in the basement. Should I install it on the return line just before leaving the basement?
Any input, instruction or pictures will be appreciated.
Thanks
John
Stihl MS361
Husqvarna 346XP
2011 GMC Canyon V8
2012 Yamaha Rhino