Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Wood boiler to lp furnace.  (Read 3736 times)

open68

• Training Wheels
    • View Profile
Wood boiler to lp furnace.
« on: December 29, 2012, 12:12:06 PM »

First and foremost please bear with me and if I miss anything just ask as this is my first time dealing with this type of idea and the rational of thinking.

Ok here goes:

First I live in the thumb of MI. Ok g/f has a forced air propane system for the main part of the house and in the basement (livable space like a tri level) there is radiant in floor heat from a outside boiler wood burner. Said wood burner also has a unit in the forced air system. There is also A/C on this set-up

Ok with the basic set up out of the way here is my question. To run the forced air system she just turns the blower from auto to on leaving the heat/cool selector to off so the burner will not kick on and waste propane. But by doing so it gets left on to long and wastes elec. So what my line of thinking is there any way that it can be turned on the heat cycle and avoid the burners coming on just cycling the blower when heat is called for?

I thought of just cutting off the pilot by shutting off the propane but once the thermo-couple sensed no flame would the system cut out? Or if it is a elec igniter would the igniter keep clicking on on a call for heat? I am trying to figure a way to run the forced air system with out the propane and not on the on setting but auto to save money.

I hope that this is clear enough to get the jest of what I am saying. No I do not know the make and model of the furnace or wood boiler (is a professorial home made model). Any questions on information that I may have omitted please ask as I know there has to be an easy solution to this problem.

Thank you in advance
Steve

Michael

• OWF Brand: Tennessee Outdoor Furnaces
  • OWF Model: 400 HE
    • View Profile
Re: Wood boiler to lp furnace.