Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Elite xt100 heating capability  (Read 3463 times)

ntrnfmr

• Training Wheels
  • OWF Brand: Empyre
  • OWF Model: Elite XT100
    • View Profile
Elite xt100 heating capability
« on: January 03, 2014, 08:36:50 AM »

I just had an Elite xt100 installed.  I havent been too impressed with its burn times.  I am getting about 8 hours max out of a load of wood most of the time about 6 hours though.  I am heating a 2750 square foot house and have a side arm on a 50 gallon hot water tank.  My house has vaulted ceilings in the main living area.  I was told this was on the high end of the limits for the stove but i still should get atleast an 8 hour burn no problem.  I am still learning the stove and think i have some areas where i can make some improvements in my operation of the unit.  I also have noticed that my house is not very tight even though it is not super old, the heat kicks on often.  I am working on tightening the house.  Do you think this unit is undersized for this application?

Sprinter

• Do it right the first time, its cheaper In the long run
  • Global Moderator
  • OWF Brand: Indoor Boiler
  • OWF Model: Menominee
  • In the long run
    • View Profile
Re: Elite xt100 heating capability
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2014, 09:24:00 AM »

Wood moisture content is usually the biggest factor, and second would be how many GPM you are flowing.
It claims 125kbtu max output
Then 6hr burn @ 66kbtu
   8hr burn @ 45kbtu
On a design temp of 0 degrees 45kbtu could cover it, if the house is good to very good insulated. And that's even if your getting the claimed output. This is where high moisture from a single piece can kill a burn output cycle.