Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Question  (Read 2862 times)

Brad

• OWF Brand: Hardy
  • OWF Model: H5
    • View Profile
Question
« on: December 12, 2012, 02:15:36 PM »

Do any of you Hardy guys also have an oil fired boiler?  I ask this because I am noticing that my oil fired boiler in the basement is kicking on and I seem to be using way more oil than I thought.  The plan when we put this in was to NOT use oil, only as a back up.  I talked to my local Hardy guy last night and he had me tweek the aquastat on the oil boiler to see if that would help.  That was set at 195 and I dropped it down to 180.  My Hardy is set at 180 on the high side and 165 on the low side.  This is my first year in this old farm house so I'm trying to learn how these things work, plus we added in the owb so I'm really confused now...  I sat in the basement and watched the temp guage on the inside boiler drop to about 160 and then the oil fired up and ran it up to about 190 and it shut off.  I think this is happening all the time I just recenntly noticed it.  I have a hvac guy who a freind of the family coming out Friday to  try and figure this out.  We have radiant baseboard heat and keep the house around 70.  Not sure if this is enough info for anyone to chime in but I'm just curious if anyone else has had this happen.  I have 35 gallons of oil left and I'm a little hacked off that I will need to but more.  Our temps have been 20 during the day and 0 to -5 at night.
Aitkin, Minnesota

AirForcePOL

• OWF Brand: HeatMaster
  • OWF Model: G400
    • View Profile
Re: Question
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2012, 02:41:36 PM »