Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Incomplete burn  (Read 3599 times)

MarkP

• OWF Brand: Homebuilt
  • OWF Model: Hillbilly #3
    • View Profile
Incomplete burn
« on: February 01, 2009, 02:34:48 PM »

With this being my first year with my OWB, I'm still learning.  One thing I'm finding is that the wood isn't burning completely.  Anytime I try to take ashes out, I find that there are very few ashes, and lots of small chunks of charred wood, charcoal, etc.  As I check the stove morning and night, I typically find about 8 inches of hot coals, and the charred wood under that.  I usually just throw more wood in on top of it all and keep the cycle going.  Eventually,, I have to take out coals, wood pieces, ashes, etc. to make room for more wood. 

My brother has a CB 5036, and was telling me he had the same problem at first.  He called the CB representative, and was told he was loading it too full, and too often.  He wasn't allowing the chips and coals to burn up completely. 

The past couple days, I've been trying to stir the ashes, and let the coals alone until they are down drastically.  It's just with working, I can't always leave the stove without wood until it burns more.

Ideas and opinions anyone???
Homemade OWB  (Smokey)
Stihl 290, 2 Stihl 170s
Tractor supply 22 ton splitter
One good woman that can cut and split wood
Le Roy, WV

ckbetz

• View Profile
Re: Incomplete burn
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2009, 04:06:58 PM »

I would use an ash rake and make sure you give it a good stir once a day.  You'll notice the ash in the bottom will be so fine it almost looks like a liquid.  Then you might see chunks of wood there but while you're gone they burn more completely and you may see the wood you put in replace the chunks that burn down to dust. 

Remember smaller particles will always settle down to the bottom.
Pomeroy, Ohio

willieG

• owbinfo.com
    • View Profile