Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Looking at the BL 3444  (Read 2268 times)

gary

• Training Wheels
  • OWF Brand: EKO
  • OWF Model: EKO
    • View Profile
Looking at the BL 3444
« on: March 27, 2014, 08:49:54 AM »

I’m a newbie here on this site and am thinking about pulling the trigger on a Ulitmizer BL 3444. I have been using an Orlan 40 gasser for the past 13 years; I was using it all year round. It started to leak excessively in mid Feb and I shut it down, “OUCH” had to buy oil. I am looking to put the BL in my barn which is 300 ft. away from the 6000 sq ft house I heat. I also am going to heat an above ground pool. The gasser worked well but I want to get away from the dry wood issue and also need a bigger fire box had to feed mine too often when the temps got below 25 degrees (I live in western PA). I have in floor hydronic heat in the basement (daylight basement) and first floor. With hot water baseboard on the 3rd floor.  For hot water I use a hot water maker. I am open for any suggestions you guys might have on the install. Also, what you think would be the best in ground insulated pex and the size of the tubing you suggest for the run from the barn. 

slimjim

• OWF Brand: Wood Doctor / HeatMaster
  • OWF Model: 14,000. / G 200 and G 400
  • Southern Maine
    • View Profile
    • www.mainlycustom.com
Re: Looking at the BL 3444
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2014, 11:56:49 AM »

OH BOY, here we go again, When you say barn, could you describe your BARN, I think FIRE HAZARD any time somebody says they wish to put a wood boiler in a barn!
Wood boiler sales, service and installation for the Northeastern USA.

gary

• Training Wheels
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2014, 12:48:31 PM »

Well I had the gasser in my house..actually it is a 21x 25 addition on to the barn..

slimjim

• Southern Maine
    • View Profile
    • www.mainlycustom.com