Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: New guy needs help with heat loss!  (Read 3894 times)

yellowriver

• Training Wheels
  • OWF Brand: Woodmaster
  • OWF Model: 434
    • View Profile
New guy needs help with heat loss!
« on: February 05, 2014, 06:52:25 PM »

I have a Woodmaster 434. I bought this new in 2001. I think my heat loss is to much. The burner is about 80' from house with 1" pex in insulatd pipe 24" deep. My dail says 166 F the upgrade digital stack switch says 169 F and the outlet water is 168 F with heat gun. Now to inside the house. Feed line inside the house is 150 F. 145 F at the waterheater and 160 F at heat exchanger. Pex line going back to wood burner is 107 F in the house and 104 F at woodburner. The boiler in house reads 138 F both with the gauge and heat gun. I listed all the readings in order as they are hooked up. This stove has the orignal Taco water pump. Thanks for the help.

Scott7m

• OWF Brand: Heatmaster
  • OWF Model: E Series
    • View Profile
Re: New guy needs help with heat loss!
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2014, 06:56:34 PM »

Sounds like pump is to slow for one thing with such large delta t

but methods of checking temps can vary greatly
Dealer for:  Heatmaster, Empyre, Earth, Ridgewood, and Woodmaster outdoor furnaces
Furnace Parts Dealer
Pelican water treatment systems
606-316-9697

yellowriver

• Training Wheels
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2014, 08:52:38 PM »

Need to take heat gun back tomorrow. Any other heat readings help me with problem or do I just plan on getting a new pump and hope? THANKS   

Scott7m

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2014, 09:41:04 PM »

R u taking readings on the same materials on the same angle and all that?   u can't check a metal fitting here and a copper tube there and a pex tube here and learn anything