Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Ash pan or not  (Read 4863 times)

Deadeye_PB

• Training Wheels
    • View Profile
Ash pan or not
« on: September 09, 2008, 04:03:45 PM »

Hey guys, as you can see, I’m new to the forum and I’ve found it to be a wealth of knowledge so far.  I am planning a DIY outdoor furnace but I have a few question regarding the design.  I plan on using .5” carbon steel tubes as both the firebox and water jacket with a forced air fan.  My problem is figuring out whether to add an ash pan and grate.  I have no experience with outdoor furnaces so the information that I have is based only on research that I’ve done. 

If I didn’t add the pan and grate, it would be much easier to fabricate.  Not having these would also make it less likely to leak because there would be fewer welds and I wouldn’t have to replace grates every so often.  I would have to shovel ashes but from what I understand, a forced air furnace provides a more complete burn and far less ashes.  I’ve been told too that allowing the ashes to stay beneath the coals allows for better insulation and also allows for a better burn.

If I did add the ash pan and grate, it would obviously be easier to remove the ashes.  However, it makes the furnace harder to fabricate, more likely to leak, and I would also have to replace grates every once and a while.

So what’s your opinion?  I don’t mind shoveling ashes but will I really have to do it that much with a forced air system?  The pros and cons seem to be telling me not to install the ash pan and grate.  Is there anything that I’m not thinking of?   

Deadeye_PB

• Training Wheels
    • View Profile
Re: Ash pan or not
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2008, 10:13:45 PM »

Anyone?.......................I know that this forum doesn't get much traffic, but does anyone have any advice.

Thanks

R W Ohio

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2008, 07:56:15 AM »