Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Username: Password:

Author Topic: 5036 temp. creep?  (Read 5265 times)

Ryan L

• Training Wheels
  • OWF Brand: Central Boiler
  • OWF Model: 5036
    • View Profile
5036 temp. creep?
« on: August 29, 2013, 10:32:48 AM »

Hello, newbie here but a vetrin wood burner! I installed a new 5036 boiler last summer and last winter was my first year burning it, Love the stove! much better than the woodstoves in the house! But i did have 1 issue with the stove that my dealer called temp. creep, what happened approx. 3 times last year was the stove would increase in temp. just setting idle, slowly but surely the temp would rise degree by degree, until i would scrape the underside of the dampner door and where it meets the door, and i continued to do that about once weekly, seemed to work until i came home from work and found the temp. creeping again( max setting on auquastat is 180) i was at 190 and it continued to climb slowly but surely to say 198 until i kicked the furnace and hot water on to lower temp, went out and scraped the doorframe and rope seal, seemed to work, but this is hapeening on warm(60-70degree) days, my dealer has been helpful and sugessed door crack but found none, rope seal has a good crush line around it and dampner door seals well(checked with feeler guage) dealer suggested propping a wheelbarrel up in front of door too limit wind around dampner door, this has been my only worry with this stove i do not want it getting to hot when i am not around, has anyone else had this issue and if so what are some remidies! Thank you, Ryan

slimjim

• OWF Brand: Wood Doctor / HeatMaster
  • OWF Model: 14,000. / G 200 and G 400
  • Southern Maine
    • View Profile
    • www.mainlycustom.com
Re: 5036 temp. creep?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2013, 10:57:36 AM »